Tally Daniels
4 min readMar 28, 2022

New York City is filled with aspiring performers that are constantly studying, networking, and auditioning with the hopes of getting their big break. Many artists turn to the service industry to support themselves, but actress Disnie Sebastien. She is originally from the small island of Dominica, has found her niche as an Amazon Live spokesperson.

Thanks to opportunities provided by the Off-Broadway theatre company Urban Stages and Amazon Live, Ms. Sebastien is on her way to becoming the next Oprah!.

We were able to steal Disnie away from her busy schedule to chat.

What is Amazon Live?

Amazon Live is a new and innovative channel created to make online shopping easy, entertaining, and interactive. The channel allows hosts, actors, companies, and influencers to create professional shows in real-time, promote products, offer discounts, and gain a following. There is no other experience quite like what you will see on the live shows! I consider Amazon Live the more fun version of QVC and HSN. I work directly with a New Jersey-based company, Top Rated Studio, a leading video studio for E-commerce and a studio that became my humble abode.

How did you get involved with Amazon?

I’m very determined to get acting work! Although I have agents, I’m always submitting myself for auditions. In 2020, I came across a casting call on Backstage, looking for a show host on the Amazon Live channel. I had never heard of Amazon Live in my life, but I clicked submit immediately to the casting call. It was a new venture for me. However, I knew that working on the Amazon Live channel would be a fantastic opportunity. I was invited to audition shortly after. The producers enjoyed my audition! However, the job didn’t come right away. I had to keep making the trek to New Jersey from New York for several auditions and callbacks. Finally, I received the best email an actress could ask for! “Congratulations! You have been cast!” I was jumping for joy!

Have you always wanted to be a Host?

It’s funny, and the thought never crossed my mind until I came across the audition. I always wanted to be an actress, but this shows the versatility that the field of Art has to offer. I have the skills of public speaking, the personality to connect with an audience, and the ability to improv. This is precisely what Amazon Live shows are about. Therefore, I was able to transfer my acting skills to hosting the shows. Hosting has become my passion and my dream. It was so unexpected, but I am so grateful to have an exciting job that I can look forward to every week.

Where can we watch your Amazon Live show?

I am live every Sunday at 6 PM & 8 PM EST. Tune in at www.toprated.live. The audience really makes the shows come alive. While the show is live, the audience can comment in the chat, and I can also converse with the viewers. There is a wide range of products featured, including toys, beauty items, and household products. There will be something for everyone, including discounts and sales!

Have you always been a performer?

I grew up on the Caribbean Island, Dominica, where Arts never bloomed. I always wanted to be a performer. That’s for sure. It was a secret dream that I didn’t tell anyone about! When I was a child, I self-taught by memorizing all the scripts on the TV and would act them out. I would have considered myself then to be an introvert, and immersing myself in the world of television led me to a fantasy land where I didn’t have to mingle with others. However, I knew that I needed to get out of Dominica if my dream was ever going to be a reality.

What brought you to New York City?

New York City was the top choice of places where I wanted to pursue my dream. I was drawn to its diversity, culture, and the Arts are thriving there! I thought it would be a great place to start my career. It’s genuinely one of the best places an actor can be. There are many options for Theatre, Film, TV.

What are your professional goals?

I want to be the most successful actress I can be and make my country proud. My main goal would be to host my show on a huge television network. Let’s go further than Amazon Live. That would be the ultimate dream! It would be a show that hopefully can appeal to all ages and be a compelling, creative and safe space.

Since I have found my passion for Hosting, I have dreams of eventually going to Los Angeles. It is another great place for actors who primarily want to do film and television work. I have a goal of becoming a Hollywood actress, starring in films and television shows. I am drawn to both comedy and drama.

I also would love to do more professional Theatre. I tend to gravitate to Doctor, Lawyer, and Mom roles. I am keeping my fingers crossed that Theatre continues to pick back up as things reopen.

What is up next for you?

I’m excited that I will be working on several commercials this year with some big brands and companies like Target. There are a few short films that I performed in. They will have upcoming screenings. Amazon Live shows will also continue with special episodes. Stay tuned!

Tune into Disnie’s Sunday Funday on Amazon Live

Sunday at 6:00 PM and 8:00 PM EST

Follow her on Instagram: @disniems

Tally Daniels

I am a huge theatre fan who learned long ago my best talent is supporting others with true talent.